Radio Imagination


Radio Imagination Catalog

Radio Imagination: Artists and Writers in the Archive of Octavia E. Butler documents Clockshop’s yearlong celebration of the life and work of science fiction writer Octavia E. Butler.

This limited edition catalog marks the first publication of new poetry and creative nonfiction by Tisa Bryant, Lynell George, Robin Coste Lewis, and Fred Moten, and highlights works in many mediums by Laylah Ali, Malik Gaines and Alexandro Segade, Lauren Halsey, Mendi + Keith Obadike, Connie Samaras. The catalog also includes an unprecedented number of images from the Octavia E. Butler Collection, courtesy of the Huntington Library and the Estate of Octavia E. Butler.


Limited Edition Totes


As part of Radio Imagination, Clockshop produced three limited edition tote bags to benefit the Octavia E. Butler Memorial Scholarship Fund. 50% of each sale went to the Carl Brandon Society, administrators of the Octavia E. Butler Memorial Scholarship, to continue supporting the development of young writers of color. The totes feature handwritten text by Butler from the Octavia E. Butler papers at the Huntington Library.

Tote bags designed and produced by Clockshop. Printing by Tom Kracauer.

About the Octavia E. Butler Memorial Scholarship

The Octavia E. Butler Memorial Scholarship assists writers of color in attending the Clarion Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers’ Workshop. Clarion is considered the premier proving and training ground for aspiring writers of science fiction, fantasy, and horror. Its instructors are among the most respected professionals working in the science fiction field today, with a remarkable number of graduates going on to critical acclaim. Butler attended the original Writers’ Workshop in Pennsylvania in 1970, returning to teach later in her career at Clarion West in Seattle, Washington, and Clarion in East Lansing, Michigan. The Memorial Scholarship furthers Butler’s legacy by providing the same opportunity to upcoming generations of writers of color.

The first Octavia E. Butler Memorial Scholarships were awarded in the summer of 2007, and have subsequently been awarded annually at the conclusion of the Clarion and Clarion West Workshops.